Skip to main content

Government of Kenya

Government of Kenya

The Government of Kenya established the SDG Partnership Platform in September 2017 with support of the UN system in Kenya.

The SDG Partnership Platform’s programming is in support of Government’s development priorities as outlined in its Big Four agenda.

Executive leadership from both national as well as county government institutions co-chair the Platform Window Steering Committees together with leadership from the UN family in Kenya.

The Platform in particular collaborates with the following Ministries in Kenya to steer and implement its programming

  • Ministry of Health
  • Ministry of Agriculture
  • Ministry of ICT, Innovation and Youth
  • Ministry of Industrialization, Trade and Enterprise Development
  • National Treasury and Planning

At the sub-national level, the Platform in particularly engages with the following:

  • Council of Governors: The Council of County Governors (COG) is a non-partisan organization established under Section 19 of the Intergovernmental Relations Act (IGRA 2012). The Council consists of 17 technical committees which are mandated to drive County Governments agenda forward. The role of the Council of Governors is promotion of visionary leadership, sharing of practices and offering a collective voice on policy issues as well as promoting inter-county consultations and encouraging and initiating information sharing on the performance of County Governments with regards to the execution of their functions. The Council also gives collective consultation on matters of interest to County Governments.
  • Frontier Counties Development Council: FCDC is a Frontier County Governments’ agency mandated to promote, coordinate and facilitate the active and extensive participation of all sectors to effect the socio-economic development of its member counties through a holistic and integrated approach to promote and strengthen inter-regional linkages to ensure the increased viability of the Frontier county-wide and/or Frontier county-specific programs and projects.
  • Lake Region Economic Bloc: The Lake Region is one of the most densely populated regions of Kenya with over 14 million people which constitute about 30% of the population in Kenya. The Lake Region Economic Bloc presents the socioeconomic aspirations of 14 counties in the Lake Basin Region and seeks to boldly secure and shape the region’s destiny. The Economic Blueprint is designed to guide development efforts by leveraging existing assets,addressing constraints and defining key steps that leaders and citizens of the region can take to transform the shared vision of prosperity into reality. The counties that constitute the Lake Region Economic Bloc in this are Bungoma, Busia, Homa Bay, Kakamega,Kisii, Kisumu, Migori, Nyamira, Siaya,Trans Nzoia, Kericho,Bomet, Nandi and Vihiga. They not only have similar ecological zones and natural resources, they have analogous cultural histories that date back to historical migrations and trading routes. Thus a partnership between the counties is both essential and timely and creates a practical framework through which county government efforts can be pooled to harness the abundant natural resources, build on existing strengths and address challenges. Also see:

About SDG Partnership Platform

The SDG Partnership Platform was launched by the Government of Kenya at the United Nations General Assembly in September 2017. 

Sign up for news